Page 1 of 1

Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:28 pm
by caseybee
Just started using the program and find it fascinating.

I have imported an image but it is too large. Resizing changes the size of the details which I do not want. As crop is not available for imported images I thought of using paper tools to blank out unwanted parts but I can't see a blank square without a border. How do you blank out a square?

Keith

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:15 pm
by evande
Hi Keith
In our video tutorial page, please check out video 2 on page 2
here is the link to the page I am referring to: http://evandesignsmodelbuilder.com/videos2.php
in that 2nd video we show how we take a photograph and use only the window from the photo by first importing into Microsoft Paint. We chose Paint because it is installed by default on all Windows operating systems.

I agree that squares/triangles/tabs without borders would be a handy thing. I can upload some in an attachment tomorrow sometime.

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:05 am
by caseybee
Thanks for the info. Will await the new borderless paper tools.
Keith

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:58 am
by evande
Borderless images can be found in the attached folder. Download the folder and unzip. Then move the images to the folder you have set for your imports folder. If you have not done so already, you can set your import folder by going to "File > Program Settings..." so you always open the same folder for importing images.

In the attached folder there are triangles, circle, square, tabs. Let me know if there are others needed!

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:06 pm
by caseybee
Thanks for them. They work a treat. Keith

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:00 pm
by evande
You're welcome!
Only thing about them, since they have no outline they could get "lost" if you put one down on the page without any material such as brick/siding beneath it.
If you do loose one, you can find it again by putting some material down and send it to "back".

Re: Blanking out part of import image

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:58 am
by caseybee
Thanks for that tip. Not built up too many layers so far but did think that rebuilding the correct sequence of layers might be a problem at some time.
Keith