importing GIFs

Post your questions, comments and suggestions. Ask questions or report problems here.

importing GIFs

Postby buzzy2377 on Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:57 am

Help. I have created many GIF files that include transparent areas. This has provided me the luxury of having background show thru, such as you have done on the stairs. I used to be able to resize these objects. The latest version(1.6.7) no longer allows me to resize. JPEGs resize alright. What has happened?

Buzzy
buzzy2377
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: importing GIFs

Postby evande on Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:05 pm

We did some testing on .gif and noticed the problem cropped up on print or re-open. The .gif appear to resize on the screen. We are looking into how to fix this and will keep you posted.
Evan Designs
evande
Site Admin
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am

Re: importing GIFs

Postby evande on Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:53 pm

Fixed. .gif are now able to be imported, stretched, saved printed, etc.
here is a link to the latest (v1.6.8) update.
http://train.modeltrainsoftware.com/mbu ... Update.exe

Thanks for pointing this out to us!!
Evan Designs
evande
Site Admin
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am

Re: importing GIFs

Postby Paulw on Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:28 pm

Hi I have imported several GIF files and working in N-scale i edit them the sizes that i want and try to fit as many on a page as i can and when i check print preview everything show's up but when i print, it only prints what i make in Model builder and omits the store front GIf's. I work on this page and saved it and when i reopen it i get an error #545 several times and i suspect it's my imported GIF. I tried several times to reload them and they look good but no print. :?:
Any help would be appreciated. I am printing on gloss Decal paper,it's not cheap so i try to fit as much on an 8x11 sheet as i can.
Paulw
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:01 pm

Re: importing GIFs

Postby evande on Tue Sep 08, 2009 4:11 pm

hi Paul
As a best practice send us a file. We can better understand what you are seeing with a file to look at. What program did you use to make your .gif? All .gif are not created equal.

Is your MB version up to date? We are on 1.6.8 and recently did work supporting .gif.
Evan Designs
evande
Site Admin
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am

Re: importing GIFs

Postby Paulw on Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:06 am

Evande
Thanks for your response. i downloaded most of the GIF from a fellow MB user. I did install the latest update and i am not sure how to and where upload the file that is giving me the problem. I did notice that some of the files i am trying to use are jpeg and i think i can convert these to GIf in the paint program. But the files i am trying to use check out as Gif when you click on properties. I am new to to this so i am not sure of anything i am trying but willing to try because it is a fun and interesting program and a reasonably less expensive way to build your own buildings. I found the site that is mentioned in the tips section (WinTopo)but am not sure it is safe to give them all the information they ask for. I am guessing it must be okay if Mb recommends it.
Paul
Paulw
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:01 pm

Re: importing GIFs

Postby evande on Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:09 am

Paul
I emailed you with directions on how to attach a file to an email. You can reply to that email and attach the file with the .gif that is not printing correctly.
when you check "help" > "about model builder" it should say version 1.6.8 is that what you see?
We need some more information to be able to get you back printing imported .gif files.
What operating system do you have?

What printer do you have?

What color resolution is your monitor set to?
To check this last one, right click on a blank area of your desktop. On the pop-up menu choose the last option. On Vista it is called "personalize" on XP it is called "properties". This will bring you to a menu where you can choose "Display Settings" on Vista or just "Settings" on XP, it will be the last choice usually. Check that your Colors are set to "highest" or 32-bit.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Regarding WinTopo it is a way to create line drawings. If you do not feel comfortable downloading wintopo then do not do so. Not everyone is comfortable with the options available on the internet.
Evan Designs
evande
Site Admin
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am

Re: importing GIFs

Postby evande on Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:08 am

Paul
We emailed you a test version that should repair your imported .gif printing.
This test version brings in JPG, BMP imported images into Model Builder using a different method.
I also adjusted the way in which it brings in clipboard images.
If you want to import gif and try this new method open the gif file in MS Paint, copy to clipboard and in Model Builder "Paste"
Also I added some extra checks while printing, so that if the program has trouble printing an image, it should report a problem and abort the print job. If this happens you can send me the message you get. The message will help me identify where the problem lies on your computer.

Since the printing problems you have are not present on my computer I have limited ability to test this new code.

Let me know what you find
Evan Designs
evande
Site Admin
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am

Re: importing GIFs

Postby Paulw on Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:12 am

Hi
Just wanted to let every one know that My problem with printing GIF has been solved By the folks at MB. I havn't produced anything that i can upload but will do as soon as i can. Thanks again for a great program and great support.
Paulw : :D
Paulw
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:01 pm


Return to Feedback & Helpdesk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DarcylKar, DocAndMed, Endorminnis, Google [Bot], Olivergaw and 2 guests

cron